Databases
- Database of Recorded American Music This link opens in a new window
A scholarly resource for recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays. It contains a diverse catalogue of American music from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond. - Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Ten volumes, each focusing on a different geographical region. Every volume contains an overview, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of major scholarly journals in various disciplines. The full-text of the articles is searchable and viewable. - Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to the largest online classical music collection. Standard and rare repertoire is included as well as some jazz and world music recordings. - Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The full text of Grove Music Online (including Grove Dictionary of American Music and Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments as well as the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music). - Teaching Artist Journal This link opens in a new windowA quarterly (available both in print and online) that serves as a voice, forum, and resource for teaching artists and all those working at the intersection of art and learning. Each issue includes a wide variety of writing about the most innovative and powerful work being done by teaching artists across the US and around the world.
