What alumni materials does the Archives collect?
The Archives is interested in documentation of the Curtis student experience exclusive of Curtis publicity or promotional campaigns. Examples include:
What faculty materials does the Archives collect?
The Archives seek personal collections from faculty with an established relationship with Curtis. Of particular interest are materials that document their lives and achievements, teaching methods, and interactions with students.
How do I find out if my materials are of interest to the Archives?
Please contact the archivist to discuss materials you wish to donate. Note that the acceptance of some materials may not be possible due to size, access restrictions, and/or conservation issues.
Will there be any legal arrangements? What about copyright?
Donors of personal archives and other unpublished historical materials are required to sign a deed of gift transferring the ownership and legal rights of the donated materials to the Curtis Institute of Music. In addition, the Archives strongly encourages donors to transfer copyright in self-created materials as this will enable their use for exhibits, Curtis publications, and research. If, however, donors wish to retain all or a part of the intellectual property rights to self-created materials, a provision will be included in the deed of gift.
Who will see my materials? Can access be restricted to part or all of it due to privacy or confidentiality issues?
The collections in the Curtis Archives, open to the Curtis community, researchers, and the public, are available both on site and online. In addition, a wide range of visitors utilize the Archives including biographers, scholars, filmmakers, journalists, and genealogists. Although access to the collections is generally unrestricted, it is possible to prohibit access to part of a collection for a specified amount of time.
Can I provide copies and keep the originals?
High-resolution scans of photographs are gladly accepted, though the Archives can also scan and return originals. For all other archival materials we prefer to retain the originals. Should that not be possible, high-resolution copies of significant materials are acceptable.
What will happen to my materials after they are transferred to the archives?
Donated archival materials will be preserved and processed according to recognized archival standards. Also, unless restrictions prevent otherwise, the materials will be made available for research and/or use in exhibits.
Is my donation tax deductible?
In certain instances donations may qualify as tax-deductible, allowing donors to claim a gift as a charitable donation. For further information, please consult a tax accountant or attorney. To claim a deduction for non-cash gifts in excess of $500 within a calendar year, a donor must file IRS Form 8283
Can I tell my Curtis story or contribute my Curtis knowledge to the Archives?
Absolutely! We always welcome personal reminiscences of your time at Curtis. Please contact the archivist to discuss sharing your information and/or experiences.
Are you interested in printed music or recordings?
Scores and recordings of Curtis performances are kept in the Curtis library which welcomes any commercially available alumni and faculty recordings not already in its holdings (see the ROC catalog). If you would like to discuss the donation of music manuscripts and scores, please contact the associate dean of the library and archives.