The Holocaust
The Holocaust was a state-sanctioned vicious murder of millions of people across Europe by Nazi Germany. It occurred from 1941 to 1945. About 6 million Jews across Europe, as well as Jehovah's Witnesses, Roma, homosexuals, people with disabilities, Poles, Soviet prisoners of war, Soviet citizens, and others who did not align themselves with the Nazis' beliefs. Victims were subjected to torture and other acts of violence.
Yom HaShoah / Holocaust Remembrance Day
Yom HaShoah, or as it is called in English, Holocaust Remembrance Day is an annual commemoration of the six million Jews who died, and the heroes and survivors of the Holocaust. This year, it takes place sundown on April 27 to sunset on April 28. The date "changes" year by year because like other Jewish holidays, it is observed using the Hebrew calendar. Its Hebrew date is the 27th of the month of Nissan. However, if it will coincide with the Jewish Sabbath, then Yom HaShoah is then to be observed the following day.
In the United States, Days of Remembrance runs from the Sunday before Yom Hashoah through the following Sunday.
Listed below are some articles that describe how Holocaust Remembrance Day is observed.
Materials and Resources on the Holocaust
- Music of the HolocaustA useful website through ORT that includes a playlist of music from the ghettos, concentration camps, partisan songs, and much more. It also includes various researched articles about music during the Holocaust.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of major scholarly journals in various disciplines. The full-text of the articles is searchable and viewable.
- Holocaust EncyclopediaThis multimedia encyclopedia of the Holocaust (Shoah) includes more than 300 articles on the history of the destruction of the Jews of Europe. Each topical or biographical entry deals with one aspect or person and is enhanced by photographs, documents, oral histories, ID cards, artifacts, animated or still maps, historical film footage, music, and/or individual life stories. Major topics covered include the history of the Holocaust, the Aftermath, Antisemitism, the Camp System, Children, Einsatzgruppen, Extermination Camps, Final Solution, Forced Labor, Ghettos, Jewish Resistance, Liberation of Nazi Camps, Mosaic of Victims, Non-Jewish Resistance, Pogroms, Racism, Refugees, Rescue, Third Reich, United States and the Holocaust, War Crimes Trials, Women, and World War II. Encyclopedia articles and materials are available in: English, French, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Turkish, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Indonesian, Greek, Arabic, Farsi, and Urdu.
Library Materials at Curtis on the Holocaust
Codename Barber : my father's story by Call Number: D804.196.S73 S734 2010ISBN: 9789163365492Publication Date: 2010The author is a Curtis Institute alumnus (Violin, 1979), first concertmaster, Stockholm Royal Opera and Ballet; faculty member, Royal College of Music.
The Inextinguishable Symphony by Call Number: ML395 .G654 2000ISBN: 9780471350972Publication Date: 2000-09-04
