General resources
Assimilation V. Integration in Music Education : Leading change toward greater equity by ISBN: 9781032107837Publication Date: 2023Ebook.
Access, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Cultural Organizations : insights from the careers of executive opera managers of color in the US by Call Number: ML406 .C89 2021ISBN: 9781138587106Publication Date: 2020
Musicology: the Key Concepts by Call Number: ML3797.B35 M87 2016ISBN: 9780415679671Publication Date: 2016-01-29
Redefining Music Studies in an Age of Change by Call Number: MT1.S27 R33 2017ISBN: 9781138122383Publication Date: 2016-09-15
An Introduction to Music Studies by Call Number: MT6.I54 H27 2009ISBN: 9780521603805Publication Date: 2009-01-12
Music, Talent, and Performance : a conservatory cultural system by Call Number: ML3798 .K55 1988ISBN: 0877225168Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Seeing Race Again : Countering Colorblindness Across the Disciplines by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780520972148Publication Date: 2019-02-05Especially see the chapter, "The possessive investment in classical music : confronting legacies of white supremacy in U.S. schools and departments of music" by Loren Kajikawa.
Humane Music Education for the Common Good by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780253046918Publication Date: 2020-03-17
- The Black Music LibraryA massive list of books, articles, podcasts, film and more exploring African American influences on every form of music. Curated by journalist and music writer Jenzia Burgos.
- A Seat at the PianoA database of piano music by composers from a diverse range of backgrounds, maintained by professional pianists. From the site: "A Seat at the Piano promotes and advocates for the inclusion, study, and performance of a more equitably representative body of piano works."
- Transforming Music Study from its Foundations:A Manifesto for Progressive Change in theUndergraduate Preparation of Music MajorsWritten by a task force of the College Music Society.
- An Introductory Resource to Music by Black ComposersAs recommended by faculty at Juilliard. Organized by instrument.
Invisible Influencers
Invisible Influencers (https://library.tulane.edu/spotlight/invisible-influencers-examining-absence-popular-narratives)
A program from Tulane University Libraries on Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint Georges. Relying on the 18th century son of an African enslaved woman and plantation owner, champion fencer, celebrated violinist and composer, and French Revolutionary war hero Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint Georges as a grounding through line, the 3-part series Invisible Influencers examined the complex social and political factors that led to some major historical influencers becoming invisible and the interdependencies between archives, libraries, and the academy that have the power to perpetuate or disrupt biased narratives.
Part 1: Understanding Representation in the Historical Canon
Featuring: Denise Frazier, PhD, Givonna Joseph, Demi Ward, Rosanne Adderley, PhD
View online: https://youtu.be/pmDEmRLjtQk
Part 2: Archives, Libraries, and the Academy
Featuring: Rachel Stein, PhD, Leon Miller, Elizabeth McMahon, PhD and Sakinah Davis, DMA
View online: https://youtu.be/7ku28rpgGGU
Part 3: Guided Listening to the Music of Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint Georges
Featuring: Tara Melvin, PhD, and Courtney Bryan, PhD
View online: https://tinyurl.com/t2k8d9u4
Resources from other libraries
- Ball State - African-American Music ("Music styles of African Americans from colonial times to the present"), https://bsu.libguides.com/african-american-music
- Belmont University - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Music, https://belmont.libguides.com/musicdiversity
- Carnegie Mellon - Music: Black Composers, https://guides.library.cmu.edu/music/blackcomposers
- Juilliard - An Introductory Resource to the Music of Black Composers: https://www.juilliard.edu/music/black-composers?fbclid=IwAR0roQFGxbtkcd5oGxKspwBsuVjvMlCvMfkkuzbsSuinGHbnCs-Q8PuofeM
- Northwestern University - African American Studies: Guides, Handouts & Tutorials: Music (“Dated lists of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, bibliographies, catalogs, handbooks, guides, etc., in African American Studies in Northwestern University Libraries."), https://libguides.northwestern.edu/ld.php?content_id=4029584
- Oberlin College - Music: Africana Music, https://libguides.oberlin.edu/africana-music
- Oberlin College - Music: Diversify Your Repertoire, https://libguides.oberlin.edu/diversify-your-repertoire
- Peabody Institute, Anti-Racist Teaching and Learning Resources (A guide to help faculty de-colonize their syllabi, and to guide performers to diverse repertoire), https://musiclibrary.peabody.jhu.edu/antiracism (IN PROGRESS)
- Rowan University - Music Sources for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, https://libguides.rowan.edu/musicdei/welcome
- Rutgers University - Institute of Jazz Studies ("This research guide is intended to introduce you to jazz resources at the Institute of Jazz Studies (IJS) and to those at other libraries, archives, and museums, as well as on the web."), https://libguides.rutgers.edu/ijs
- Syracuse University - Music: Find Diverse Repertoire ("This page provides search strategies for locating music from creators who are part of one or more of the following groups: LGBT identities; women; people of color; musicians outside of the Western European musical tradition"), https://researchguides.library.syr.edu/c.php?g=258133&p=6985417
- Temple University - Black Composers in Classical Music ("A research guide for finding recordings, music, and information on classical music written by black composers."), https://guides.temple.edu/blackclassical/sites
- Tri-County Technical College - African American Music History, https://library.tctc.edu/AfricanAmericanStudies/music
- Tufts University - Diversity, Equity, and Antiracism in Music, https://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/diversity-and-music
- University of Oklahoma - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (This page has been added to many of our existing guides.), https://guides.ou.edu/c.php?g=113902&p=7651620